Changed structure of ISO 9001: 2015

One of the biggest changes in the new version of ISO 9001 (released September '15) is to the structure.  

Why did the structure change? 

ISO publishes a range of Standards for management systems, but each standard used different structures and formats.  The standards for management systems include:

For some time, ISO has wanted to introduce consistency across the standards.  Work has now been completed on this, setting an identical structure, common text where suitable (see example below), and common terms and definitions for the various management system standards.  Other desired outcomes are to make such Standards easier to read and understand, and easier to integrate more than one Standard into an overall business management system - for example, Quality (9001) with Environmental Management (14001) or Information Security (27001).

An example of identical text across different Standards:
Top management shall ensure that the responsibilities and authorities for relevant roles are assigned and communicated within the organization.

Where are we now?

Currently 3 standards have been published in the new 'harmonised format'; another 7 are in train, including ISO 9001 and ISO 14001. It will take a few years before all are harmonised.

For more information on the harmonisation work, see ISO website.

My overview of changes in the new 2015 version of ISO 9001